Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation




Home > breadcrumbs: Jr-Sr High School > breadcrumbs: Features >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0

Burwell High School Principal Named Principal of Year

October 01, 2017

Burwell Jr. Sr. High School principal, Mr. David Owen, received the 2017-2018 High School Principal of the Year from the Nebraska State Association of Secondary School Principals. The Nebraska State Association of Secondary School Principals consists of five regions and Mr. Owen was named Principal of the Year for Region IV. Don Hosick, Region IV President, presented the award to Mr. Owen on Wednesday, September 27, at the Kearney Country Club.


The Nebraska State Association of Secondary School Principals is committed to the improvement of secondary education. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding school leaders who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students. The nominee must be a member of both the state and national secondary school principals’ associations and have been a practicing principal for the past five years. Any Nebraska educator may nominate a principal for consideration and those files of nominees remain active for one additional year. The selection panel for the award consists of nine individuals.

Back To Top